PHYSIOGRAPHY

Site. There are also ski slopes in Duck Mountain Provincial Park and several of the regional parks as well as cross-country ski and snowmobile trails in Moose Mountain Provincial Park.

Alberta. Alberta has 51 provincial parks containing 219 sq miles; 47, with a total area of approximately 208 sq miles, are in use and continuing development. Cypress Hills Provincial Park with an area of 78 sq miles is the largest and is situated in the southeast portion of the province. Other parks are: Aspen Beach, Beauvais Lake, Big Hill Springs, Big Knife, Bow Valley, Bragg Creek, Calling Lake, Chain Lakes, Crimson Lake, Cross Lake, Dillberry Lake, Dinosaur, Dry Island Buffalo Jump, Entrance, Garner Lake, Gooseberry Lake, Gregoire Lake, Hasse Lake, Hommy, Jarvis Bay, Kinbrook Island, Lac Cardinal, Ma-Me-O Beach, Miquelon Lake, Moonshine Lake, Moose Lake, O'Brien, Park Lake, Pembina River, Pigeon Lake, Police Outpost, Red Lodge, Rochon Sands, Saskatoon Island, Sir Winston Churchill, Taber, Thunder Lake, The Vermilion, Tillebrook Trans-Canada Campsite, Wabamun Lake, Williamson, Willow Creek, Winagami Lake, Woolford, Writing-On-Stone, Youngs Point. These parks which are generally provided with picnic, camping and playground facilities are maintained by the Department of Lands and Forests, Provincial Parks Division, primarily for the recreation and enjoyment of residents and visitors. There is a park within easy reach of almost every town. The most northerly park is Gregoire Lake, about 20 miles south of Fort McMurray and the southernmost park is Police Outpost which adjoins the Alberta-Montana border. Alberta's provincial parks are visited by over 4 million tourists and vacationers annually.

In addition to the recreational parks, 26 sites have been established to mark and preserve locations of historical interest. They are: Athabasca Landing, Buckingham House, Bugner Plantation, Coronation Boundary Marker, Early Man Site, Fort DeL'Isle, Fort George, Fort Vermilion, Fort Victoria, Fort White Earth, Frog Lake Massacre, Grizzly Bear Telegraph Station, Hay Lakes Telegram Station, Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, Massacre Butte, Ribstones, Rocky Mountain House Fort, Standoff, Stephansson, Twelve Foot Davis, Shaw Woolen Mill, Rev. George McDougall's Death Site, McLeod Fort, Indian Stone Pile, St. Joseph Industrial School and Old Women's Buffalo Jump.

Willmore Wilderness Provincial Park adjoins Jasper National Park in the north and extends along the British Columbia border. Wilderness areas have been set aside to preserve as far as possible the natural scene and are neither subject to development nor provided with roads. Two wilderness areas were established under the Forest Reserves Act in 1961: Willmore Wilderness Provincial Park has an area of 1,775 sq miles, Siffleur Wilderness 159 sq miles and White Goat Wilderness 489 sq miles. The Ghost River Wilderness area of 59 sq miles was established under the Provincial Parks Act in 1967. The Ghost River, Siffleur and White Goat Wilderness areas were re-established under the Wilderness Areas Act in 1971. The wilderness areas are complemented by six natural areas established during 1968-70 in representative zones of the province: Kootenay Plains, 13 sq miles; Foothills, 160 acres; Parkland, 159.2 acres; Brown-Lowrey, 640 acres; Red Rock Coulee, 801 acres; and Plateau Mountain, 320 acres.

British Columbia. There are 310 (175 developed) provincial parks in British Columbia, having a total area of about 13,350 sq miles. These parks are classified as A, B and C. Class A parks are intended to preserve outstanding natural, scenic and historic features of the province for public recreation; they have a high degree of legislative protection against exploitation and alienation. Class B parks are also primarily for the protection of natural attractions but other resource use may be permitted if it does not unduly impair recreational values. Class C parks are intended primarily for the use of local residents and are usually managed by local park boards. Nature Conservancy Areas in any park are fully protected from resource development and are dedicated to a variety of recreational uses. In addition to provincial parks there are 13 Recreation Areas encompassing a total area of 875 sq miles administered by the Parks Branch. There are immense wilderness areas such as Tweedsmuir Park and Wells Gray Park and outstanding scenic and mountain reserves such as Garibaldi, Mount Robson, Manning, Bowron Lake and Mount Edziza Parks.

In 1973, 10 new major provincial parks were established and the area of Mount Assiniboine Park was increased from 20 sq miles to 150 sq miles. Atlin, 900 sq miles, in the northwest corner of the province on the Alaska boundary is the largest of the 10 new parks. Naikoon Park, 280 sq miles on the northeast tip of Graham Island is the first major park in the